UNIT PRICE = $13.99      QUANTITY =

KansasPoint.jpg (19638 bytes)

KANSAS "Point Of Know Return"

U.S. Release : SNY85387

STOCK STATUS: IN STOCK - ships in 1 day

1. Point Of Know Return
2. Paradox
3. The Spider
4. Portrait (He Knew)
5. Closet Chronicles
6. Lightning's Hand
7. Dust In The Wind
8. Spark's Of The Tempest
9. Nobody's Home
10. Hopelessly Human
Kansas is:
Dave Hope (bass)
Phil Ehart (drums, percussion)
Kerry Livgren (guitar)
Robert Steinhardt (violin, strings, vocals)
Steve Walsh (keyboards, vocals)
Richard Williams (guitar)
Produced by: Kansas

This US group was formed in 1972 after David Hope (bass) and Phil Ehart (drums, percussion) changed the name of their band, White Clover, to Kansas, recruiting Kerry Livgren (guitar, vocals), Robert Steinhardt (violin, strings, vocals), Steve Walsh (keyboards, vocals) and Richard Williams (guitars). Although an American band, Kansas were heavily influenced from the outset by British rock of that era, such as Yes and Genesis, and this was evident in the lyrics of their primary songwriter, Walsh. Kansas released their debut in 1974, and the following two albums attained gold status, guaranteeing the band a high profile in the USA (although no Kansas albums reached the charts in the UK). By 1977 the band had tired of the progressive rock pigeonhole into which the music press was forcing them, and decided to try a more commercial approach. Their popularity was confirmed on 27 June 1978 when they attended a ceremony at Madison Square Gardens in New York, at which the organization UNICEF named the band Deputy Ambassadors of Goodwill. In the early 80s Walsh decided to leave the band after he became unhappy with their increasingly commercial sound. He released the solo set, Schemer Dreamer, which featured other members of Kansas. He was replaced by John Elefante (keyboards, vocals), who wrote four of the songs on Vinyl Confessions. The band split in 1983 following two unsuccessful albums. Livgren and Hope had become born-again Christians, the former releasing Seeds Of Change, a commercially disastrous solo effort based on his religious experiences, and then recorded prolifically with AD. In October 1986 Walsh, Ehart and Williams re-formed Kansas with Steve Morse, lately of The Dixie Dregs (guitar), and Billy Greer (bass). This reunion was celebrated with the release of Power, an album that rejected the jazz-rock feel of earlier releases in favour of a heavier sound. Their first studio album in seven years was released in May 1995.

We accept the following forms of payment:
Our shopping cart is fully encrypted and secured by
N.E.H. Records
7915 Oxford Road, Niwot, CO 80503, USA
Email: mmcpherson@nehrecords.com
TOLL FREE ORDER LINE : 1-888-652-0199
Phone: (303) 652-0199
Fax: (303) 652-2279